Ming-fai Fong is an Assistant Professor in the Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech and Emory. She received her BS in Mechanical Engineering from MIT and PhD in Neuroscience from Emory University. She completed her postdoctoral training in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences at MIT and a visiting lectureship in the Neuroscience Department at Wellesley College.

Yichao Zhao is a PhD student in the Biomedical Engineering Graduate Program and the Computational Neural Engineering Training Program at Georgia Tech and Emory. He received his dual BS degree in Biology and Biomedical Engineering from Emory and Georgia Tech. As an undergraduate he conducted research in cancer genetics and animal biomechanics, and subsequently worked as a flow cytometry specialist at Raybiotech. Chao returns to GT-Emory with an interest in exploring computational methods in biomedical research. His research leverages electrophysiology, computational modeling, and control system engineering tools to study neuroplasticity in visual circuits.

Robert Lamprecht is a research technician in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech. He received his BS in Computer Science with a concentration in neuroscience from Wofford College. He has previously conducted research on affective disorders and spinal cord injury using rodent models. Rob is interested in neural networks, artificial intelligence, and brain-computer interfaces, and how these tools can be leveraged to better understand sensation and perception.

Lab alumni

Arvin Sarkissian, Graduate Rotation Student (Emory), 2022.
Ta’Kayla Wright, Undergraduate Researcher and NIH-ESTEEMED Scholar (Georgia Tech), 2021-2022.

Friends of the lab

(former trainees & mentors from previous institutions)
Christian Candler, Research Technician (MIT), 2019-2021.
Nathan Liang, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT), 2019-2020.
Kerlina Liu, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT), 2019-2020.
Natasha Sharma, High School Researcher (MIT/Newton North), 2019.
Jocelyn Yao, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT), 2018-2019.
Lisandro Martin, Undergraduate Researcher/Technician (MIT), 2017-2019.
Elena Esch, AMGEN Undergraduate Research Scholar (MIT/Lafayette), 2017.
Madiha Shafquat, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT), 2016-2017.
Alyda Huerta, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT), 2016.
Julia Deere, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT/Wellesley), 2015-2018.
Filia Van Dessel, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT/Wellesley), 2015-2017.
Yasemin Atiyas, Undergraduate Researcher (MIT), 2015.
Mark Bear, Postdoctoral Advisor (MIT), 2015-2021.
Candace Law, Undergraduate Researcher and LINCR Fellow (Georgia Tech), 2011-2013.
Marc Powell, Undergraduate Researcher and Petit Scholar (Georgia Tech), 2011-2012.
Amanda Fernandes, Undergraduate Researcher (Emory), 2011.
Steve Potter, Graduate Thesis Advisor (Georgia Tech & Emory), 2009-2014.
Peter Wenner, Graduate Thesis Advisor (Emory), 2009-2014.
Sebastian Seung, Undergraduate Thesis Advisor (MIT), 2003-2005.
Russ Tedrake, Undergraduate Thesis Advisor (MIT), 2003-2005.